Food Literacy for All – U of M lecture series open to the public

Presented by the UM Sustainable Food Systems Initiative, Food Literacy for All (NRE.639.038, 2 credits) is a new course at the University of Michigan that will be structured as a public lecture series featuring different guest speakers each week to address diverse challenges and opportunities of both domestic and global food systems.

UM students can enroll in the course for credit and community members can attend the series for free. Registration for each session is required and opens one week prior (Click here to sign-up). All lectures will be filmed and made available on the SFSI website and select lectures will be livestreamed to the U-M Detroit Center.

Tuesday evenings, 6:30-8pm

Angell Hall, Auditorium B


Here’s the schedule: 
January 10, 2017: Jennifer Blesh & Malik Yakini (registration opens Jan 3)
January 17, 2017: Frances Moore Lappe  (registration opens Jan 10)
January 24, 2017: Ricardo Salvador  (registration opens Jan 17)
January 31, 2017: Raj Patel   (registration opens Jan 24)
February 7, 2017: Thaddeus Barsotti   (registration opens Jan 31)
February 14, 2017: Ari Weinzweig  (registration opens Feb 7)
February 21, 2017: Tim Crews  (registration opens Feb 14)
March 7, 2017: Linda Jo Doctor  (registration opens Feb 21)
March 14, 2017: Saru Jayaraman  (registration opens March 7)
March 21, 2017: Monica White  (registration opens March 14)
March 28, 2017: Michael Twitty (registration opens March 21)
April 4, 2017: Wayne Roberts  (registration opens March 21)
April 11, 2017: Kelly Brownell  (registration opens April 4)

*All registrations open at noon
This course is presented by the UM Sustainable Food Systems Initiative, with support from the United States Department of Agriculture (USDA), LSA Instructional Support Services (LSA-ISS), the International Institute, the Institute for the Humanities, the Institute for Research on Women and Gender (IRGW), Graham Sustainability Institute, and the Center for Engaged Academic Learning (CEAL), and the Nutritional Sciences Department.

Comments are closed.